Pinkocrat

Two ways marijuana effects my thinking

leave a comment »

Normally I take for granted, say, the validity of feminism or the superiority of democracy to monarchy.  But on weed I feel much freer to question these fundamentals.  I find myself reexamining the arguments for otherwise unquestioned propositions.  I don’t know if this is real open-mindedness, since I almost always end up re-arguing myself into the positions I held before, but it sure feels like a good-faith effort at the time.

I also find myself thinking more easily in terms of spectrums in place of discrete categories.  Not just in productive ways, either: comparisons that aren’t that useful (like the metaphors in Top 40 pop songs) appear more insightful than they are.  Give me two things, like “hamburger” and “actor”, and I’ll naturally place them as two poles on a spectrum, then try to figure out what the scale is measuring (maybe dead organic matter vs. living matter, or Things That Should Be Honest vs. Thing I Expect to Deceive).  If I can concentrate on the issue long enough, you could give me a second arbitrary axis (say, “centralized” vs. “decentralized”), and examining the resulting quadrants would yield exquisite pleasure.

I guess, then, marijuana frees my mind without necessarily encouraging it to move closer toward the truth.

Written by pinkocrat

November 27, 2013 at 10:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

